The Next Era Of The DC Universe Revealed

Some changes are coming to the DC Universe in 2021.

Readers are currently seeing the DC Universe torn apart as a battle rages across the Multiverse in the pages of Dark Nights: Death Metal. The story concludes in January 2021 which will be followed by the two-month long Future State, which will explore the possible futures of the DCU.

There has been some rumblings and rumors about what will occur after Future State ends. We’ve been hearing about some of the new creative teams coming on to different series, but DC is ready to reveal even more with the announcement of Infinite Frontier.

Infinite Frontier #0 cover art by Dan Jurgens and Mikel Janín.

In March, DC will release Infinite Frontier #0, a special 64-page one shot from their top creators. The one-shot will give an idea what readers can expect throughout 2021 and beyond.

Writer Joshua Williamson said the following:

“Infinite Frontier #0 really feels like the beginning of a new era of DC Comics, a time when anything is possible. We’re taking the aftermath of Dark Nights: Death Metal and combining it with the best things we love as storytellers about the DC Universe, resulting in bold, fun, and exciting new directions. There are a lot of teases to new story lines, surprises, and mysteries for the year set up in Infinite Frontier #0 that you won’t want to miss.”

Besides Williamson, who can we expect to see contributing to this issue? DC has also revealed the creative teams for the different stories within.

  • Joshua Williamson, Scott Snyder, and James Tynion IV with John Timms
  • Brian Michael Bendis and David Marquez
  • Becky Cloonan and Michael W. Conrad with Alitha Martinez
  • Geoff Johns and Todd Nauck
  • Joshua Williamson and Alex Maleev
  • James Tynion IV and Jorge Jiménez
  • Phillip Kennedy Johnson and Jamal Igle
Infinite Frontier #0 variant cover art by John Timms.

DC also shared some more information. There will be a story setting up the just announced Joker ongoing series. We’ll be seeing a younger Yara Flor, first introduced in Future State: Wonder Woman and Future State: Superman/Wonder Woman, begin to search for her destiny. It’ll be orientation day at Titans Tower with a new group of teen heroes introduced, including the future Red X. We’ll also get a Justice League story by Brian Michael Bendis and David Marquez featuring new JL members which includes Black Adam, Naomi, and Hippolyta. The one-shot will also include an all-new Stargirl story by Geoff Johns and Todd Nauck.

Looking carefully at the first image, what the heck is going on with Wonder Woman? Why is Hippolyta in the Justice League? Looks like something will be happening to her in Death Metal. Apparently she’ll be venturing into the “godsphere” in a new storyline by Becky Cloonan, Michael W. Conrad and Travis Moore, which continues in March’s Wonder Woman #770.

You can also see there are two Batmen as well as Damian Wayne’s new non-Robin costume. It’s also been mentioned we’ll be seeing the “redemption” of Wally West next year.

Infinite Frontier #0 will be on sale Tuesday, March 2, 2021 with a $5.99 price (and $6.99 for the card stock variant).

Buy Me a Coffee at

One Reply to “The Next Era Of The DC Universe Revealed”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: